Pot roast and gravy.

That’s right… last night I had pot roast, green beans, cauliflower mash and gravy. It was heavenly!!!!

I found the recipe on lowcarber.org. Great place!!!

Ingredients
2 teaspoons olive oil
4 pounds boneless chuck roast
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

1 Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
2 Heat a heavy Dutch oven on top of the stove over medium high heat. Add oil, and sear meat in the center of the pan for 4 minutes. Turn meat over with tongs; sear all sides for 3 to 4 minutes on each side. Remove meat from pan. Arrange onion, garlic, and 1 bay leaf in the bottom of the pan, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Return meat to pan, place remaining bay leaf on top of meat, and cover.
3 Cook in the oven for 30 minutes at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Reduce the heat to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C), and cook for 1 1/2 hours. Remove roast to a platter to rest for 10 to 15 minutes.

I feel it could have been in there a bit longer. It was delicious! But, it definitely wasn’t as melt in your mouth tender as what I’ve made in the crock pot. I think that if I would have turned it down to say 275 and cooked it for 2.5-3 hours that it would have made it more tender

ANYWAYS! I took the roast out of my dutch oven and put it on a plate to rest. I then took some heavy whipping cream and started adding it to the pot over medium heat. I don’t really know how much I used tho… sorry! (I don’t usually measure when I cook, I just eyeball things) I then used this as a gravy over my cauliflower and roast. It was DELICIOUS!!!!!

I weighed myself again this morning,, and I was down to 216.8 I lost another 1.2 pounds from yesterday morning until THIS morning. To say that I’m happy with my weightloss up to this point is an understatement!!

I also had my first craving tonight. My daughter is going to be in a local production of A Christmas Carol, and we were taking her to rehearsal, well, we started to drive home and all of a sudden I had a NEED to have something sweet! I probably would have clawed someones eyes out for a chocolate bar! LOL The best I could do was get some beef jerky from Walgreens. I was going to buy myself a 12 pack of Diet Dr Pepper, but they didn’t have any. I ended up with a 2 liter instead. I know that I don’t need all the soda,but it doesn’t add to my carb count, and it’s just one thing. I will eventually phase it out. The funny thing about the cravings is, I went to a church moms group this morning and there were TONS of things there that I couldn’t have, and I didn’t even bat an eye at the ¬†cinnamon buns, or the hashbrowns, and not even the chocolate chip pumpkin cookies really got me to think twice. How crazy is that?!

Breakfast 5 slices of bacon and cracklins (because I’m a meat eater dangit!! If you’re not on my facebook, this will make no sense.. LOL)

Lunch: wasn’t hungry, so I didn’t eat (and I was at moms group anyways! LOL)

Dinner Spaghetti squash with homemade sauce and ground turkey.

Leave a Reply

